State of Delaware pet licensing
Frequently asked questions
HELP DESK
Still have a question that you have not been able to answer?
Visit our Help Desk for more information: https://docupetinc.zendesk.com/hc/en-us
LICENSING OPTIONS, DATES, AND LOCATIONS
How old does my pet need to be for me to license them?
All pets over the age of 6 months are required to be licensed.
Do licenses need to be renewed annually?
Licenses are required to be renewed prior to the expiration date each year.
When does my pet's temporary license expire?
Temporary licenses expire after 45 days. To convert a temporary license into a full license you must provide proof of rabies expiration prior to the temporary license expiration date. If the rabies expiration date extends beyond the original term selected your pet's license may be extended to the full term originally selected.
When can I renew my pet's license?
You may renew your pet's license within 60 days of your pet's current license expiration date. If you renew prior to the upcoming expiration date, your pet's new license will start the day after expiration, not on the date of purchase.
When does my pet's license expire?
Licenses will be valid for 1 or 2 years from the license start date. For a 1-year license, your pet's rabies vaccination must be current at the time of purchase. For a 2-year license, there must be more than 1 year remaining on the rabies vaccination as of the purchase date. Pets with a State Certificate of Medical Exemption from Rabies Vaccination may purchase a 1-year license only.
ACCOUNT UPDATES
My pet is no longer with me, but I’m still receiving renewal reminders?
We’re sorry! Unfortunately, unless you update your account to reflect that a pet is no longer in your care, we have no way of knowing. Have you already told us? You may have a duplicate account. Get in touch with your licensing organization or our DocuPet customer service team to update your record.
Does my license transfer if I am moving?
If you are moving, please be sure to update your address by logging into your online account and navigating to your Profile Settings page. Even though you are moving, you’ll still be able to keep your pet's tag and access your pet's online account. However, your current license may not be valid in the new community you are moving to. Please get in touch with the pet licensing provider in the new community you are moving to in order to find out more information.
How do I notify DocuPet that my pet has passed away?
We're sorry for your loss. You can update a pet's profile via your online account by editing your pet's profile and selecting 'Remove this Pet'.
FEES AND FINES
My pet qualifies for the service animal rate. What do I do?
Per Delaware law, the fee is waived for seeing eye, guide or lead dogs, or dogs who have former US Military service. You will need to contact Delaware Animal Services to see if you qualify at delawareanimalservies@delaware.gov.
What is the processing fee?
For all online orders, a processing fee is applied on license purchases at a rate of 2.65% + $0.25 per transaction.
What is the refund policy on licenses?
Refunds may be granted if your pet has passed away or has been returned, provided the request is submitted within 30 days of the license purchase date. After this period, we’re unfortunately unable to process a refund.
Why am I being charged a late fee?
Late fees come into effect if a license is not renewed within 30 days of the original expiration date.
What is the senior citizen age requirement?
Those aged 65 and older may qualify for a senior citizen rate. Your pet must be spayed/neutered to receive the senior rate.
TAGS
Will my pet receive a new free tag with every order?
No, each pet will only receive one free tag with their first license via DocuPet. This tag doesn’t expire. If you’ve already received a DocuPet tag, your furry friend is good to go! If you’d like a new tag, you can purchase a standard replacement tag or a new designer tag during the license order process or in our store.
CITY INFORMATION AND CITY ORDINANCES
Where can I find information about the pet licensing ordinance/bylaw?
Visit this page for information on licensing ordinances/bylaws.
What species are required to be licensed?
The following species are required to be licensed: Dogs
DOCUMENT SUBMISSION
Where can I obtain a copy of my pet’s rabies or spay/neuter document?
If you can’t locate the document you received after the procedure was done, you will need to contact your vet to obtain your pet's records. Be sure to specify any and all pets you require documentation for.
Once you’ve got the paperwork in your hands, take a look to ensure:
- The document provided is the right type of proof required.
- Pet and pet owner account data matches your own.
- The document is clear and legible.
What documentation is required to purchase a license?
A valid rabies proof is required to purchase a pet license. A 45-day temporary license may be issued if you do not have a rabies certificate at the time of licensing. Proof of spay/neuter is required to receive the discounted altered rates.
My pet is spay/neuter exempt, what do I do?
Spay/nueter exempt pets will need to pay the intact license rates.
What are acceptable documentation types?
A rabies proof is required to prove that your pet has been vaccinated against rabies. A rabies proof identifying your pet as spayed/neutered or a spay/neuter proof may be accepted as documentation of sterilization.
How long does it take for my pet’s documents to be reviewed?
Documentation uploaded via the online system is reviewed within two to three business days.
My pet is rabies exempt, what do I do?
For more information on the State Certificate of Medical Exemption from Rabies Vaccination, click here. Certificates can only be authorized by a licensed veterinarian.
If your dog has a valid State Certificate of Medical Exemption from Rabies Vaccination, you may provide that certificate to DocuPet in lieu of the Rabies Certificate.
Can I still license my pet if I don’t have the required documentation?
Yes! A temporary license can be issued while you gather your documents. Just follow one of the licensing methods listed above to get started. Please note that proof must be submitted before the temporary license expires, otherwise a new license will need to be purchased.
